Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Los Angeles, CA 90024

Meet Melissa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I was the youngest child growing up, which made me long for a little sibling to look after. While I never did get that familial younger sibling, I absolutely love babysitting because it gives me the opportunity to act as a big sister to the kids I watch. To me, this means I really want kids to see me as a friend while also knowing I will make sure they're safe and taken care of! Having grown up in family-centric, suburban community, I started my childcare experience back in high school by babysitting for multiple households in my neighborhood. Realizing how much I loved spending time with kids, I decided to get a part-time job at a local daycare while I was at home attending community college. I worked there regularly over the course of 2 years and loved every minute of it. The daycare had 2 rooms, one where Read more children were 3 months old to 3 years old, and the other where they were 4 years old to 11 years old. Given the age range, my duties with the kids varied greatly; sometimes I was changing baby's diapers, sometimes I was playing board games, and sometimes I was talking to kids when they needed to about their lives, issues at school, and more. No matter what I was doing though, I enjoyed it so much. Every kid, no matter what age, has their own unique personality, and I really love understanding each child and making sure they feel comfortable based on their individual needs. Considering I often was watching 10-20 kids by myself at this job, I feel very prepared to take care of multiple children at once while making sure they all receive individual attention. The job also trained me and had me go through background checks as well as CPR Certification. I transferred to UCLA in 2018, and one of the most difficult things about this transition was saying goodbye to the kids at my job. I actually did continue working there when I could over school breaks, but this past summer was the last time I could make it work. Now, as I live primarily in L.A., I would absolutely love to continue working with kids by getting to know you, your family, and helping out in anyway you need! Whether you want to go out for a date night or just would like someone in the house to watch the kids while you get work done or relax, I'm here to work with your needs in mind!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 10/12/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 1/12/22

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Fabio Z.

5/9/2020

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs

Education

World Arts and Cultures, Minor in Film

Graduated University of California - Los Angeles 2020

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melissa's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now