JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in Hartford, CT 06105

Meet Emily

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi! My name is Emily Petersen and I live in Hartford, CT. A little about myself... I have been living and working in Hartford as an environmental educator for the past 6 years. In that capacity myself and my co-teacher developed an environmental curriculum based in storybooks and characters we created to engage kids with the world around them (imagine a giant pink body-pillow Wally Worm teaching you about soil as a kindergartner!) I am currently a nursing student at the University of St. Joseph for an accelerated second bachelors degree. I plan to work in a Neo-Natal intensive care unit. I have worked as a nanny and babysitter for children ranging from newborns to 14-year olds and also served as a lifeguard for 5 years. I am first aid and CPR certified. I am an avid cook and do not mind helping out with basic household chores while sitting. Read more I am also a musician, classically trained in both piano and trumpet. I have experience teaching music lessons, as an elementary, middle, high school, and university level educator, as well as a swim instructor. I have worked with children for many years now, serving as a steady babysitter and nanny for six years and on and off for the past fifteen years. I love children and their energy and look forward to learning more about you and your family. Don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have about my experiences and/or qualifications. Thank you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Emily doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

English and Biology

Graduated Augustana College - Rock Island 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Emily's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now