JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 70
  • Babysitter in Norwalk, CT 06854

Meet Virginia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a part-time driver for a car company looking for a sitter's position.  I am a grandmother who does not see the kids very much as my family is not local.  I can take care of any children of any age and am especially good with kids who need special attention as I seem to gravitate toward the underdog(s).  I am very encouraging towards education, because many children do not yet respect the concept of a good education -- they just aren't mature enough (well, most of them). I also think sports and teamwork are important as well as competition, and this includes small children as well as high school kids. I will always follow the instructions of the parents unless of course there is a safety matter they did not consider,  I have no problem with pets unless there is a loose boa crawling around the house.  I Read more am very partial to dogs, however. Please note that I never answer the phone while driving but I will pull over for an important call.  My driving is excellent and I never speed and I always make sure the seat belts are fastened. Mostly I use a grandmom's common sense.  I was in the legal field for many years so confidentiality and pressure were mainstays in my career.   I am computer savvy, but I won't even try to keep up with the kids; I just sit back and learn from them.  I am good with logic and English. I am big on holidays and music and hobbies.   I am also available for one-day sitter jobs.  

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 9/11/2017
  • My availability is valid through 12/10/17

Ratings & reviews

Virginia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$15/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism

Education

General Studies

Graduated University of Connecticut 1990

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Virginia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now