Sittercity home Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Unionville, CT 06085

Meet Debbie

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a young retiree and am looking to fill some time doing what I love to do. I am mature, energetic. loving and kind. Most often strangers comment to me how lucky the family is to have me. I’m the lucky one. I have had the good forture to have worked for many wonderful families based on mutual respect, cooperation and ability to communicate to build a great working relationship.  I have excellent references, trustworthy, I am flexible, hard-working, prompt and willing to help. Haven't met a child that didn't like me or vice versa. Love teaching children and interacting with them on all levels. I've never been late for any job (that was in my control). I have a perfect driving record and it gives me great pleasure to be a part of making your day...an easier one! Had a daycare in my home for many years. I Read more have watched multiples, physical and emotionally challenged children and children of all ages. I have been CPR/Infant certified in the past and willing to update that to your wishes. I am great at managing my time (I have managed a full office staff as well as 6 children at a time at my day care, with great results). I enjoy helping out around the house if time allows (kids come first). A successful day to me is when the children are happy and having fun and I have done some things to make the day of the parents easier too. I have done laundry, I'm a good cook, don't mind doing homework with kids, and basically made sure that there's not much for the family to do but spend their time together when they get home. On any level I might be of assistance to you, whether it's date night sitting, weekend and for weeks at a time. I have traveled with families for vacations. I would be wiling to adjust my schedule to suit your needs. I can be available any time of the day or night. Look forward to hearing from you.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 12/11/2015

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 12/10/2015

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 12/10/2015

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/11/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

5

0

0

0

0

Chris V.

11/18/2015

We hired Debbie on short notice to watch our 3 year old and 5 year old when our regular nanny broke her foot. For obvious reasons, we are very picky when we hire someone to safeguard our children and give them a key to our house. Debbie's references were glowing and her background check was clean. She has been with us about a month and has been able to pick up without a missed beat. She has established a great rapport with our children (and our 3 year old can be a challenge), and dove in and improved our routine almost immediately. And to top it off, she is an amazing cook. She comes with my highest recommendation and I would have no reservations in hiring her.

Cindy M.

10/13/2015

Debbie took care of my kids recently. We had a home emergency as we lost water and she took it all in stride. The kids were engaged all day and she was on time and open to the ideas I had for her to do with the kids. I hope that we will be able to have her come again and there will be water!

Barla B.

10/12/2015

Debbie was a last minute sitter we called because our 5 month old son was sick, my husband and I had to work and she immediately responded. She went above and beyond her duties as a sitter. We will definitely be calling her again.

Jennifer L.

7/13/2015

Debbie has babysat for my three children (2 boys and 1 girl, ages 10 1/2, 6, and 8/12) a couple of times and all of them love her! The first time she came, she brought homemade chocolate chip cookies, played hours of Monopoly, fixed dinner and cleaned up, and started teaching them all how to crochet. The second time she came, she had crocheted small blankets for the boys and a headband for my daughter. She is great and my kids always ask when she's coming back.

Jennifer A.

4/30/2013

Deb has been a wonderful addition to our family. She is VERY responsible and dependable. She has taken on caring for my 2 young kids, driving them to activities, helping them with homework and cooking wonderful meals for us. She is very engaging with the kids. She plays games and takes them outside to play. She involves them in the cooking if they are interested. She is also strict with manners, which I'm thrilled about. She is able to control situations with the kids when they are a bit too energetic and not listening. I feel that the kids are very safe, loved and well looked out for with Deb.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dwarfism
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Nursing

Graduated

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Debbie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now