Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Babysitter in Washington, DC 20001

Meet Emily

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Emily, and I am a local Virginian-turned-Washingtonian. I work in museum education at the Smithsonian, where I have been employed for the past 8 years. Prior to that, I was at the University of Virginia, where I earned my BA in 2010. I have always enjoyed babysitting, even when working full-time as well. I have several families in the DC area that I have known and worked with for years, and I love the relationships that I've been able to build with their kids as well as the parents (references available upon request). I'm a huge fan of engaging with the kids that I'm spending time with - so whether your kids enjoy running around outside, working on art projects, or reading together, I'm ready to jump in and have fun with them. My mindset is that I'm working for your kids as well - when they are safe Read more and having a great time, then I am doing my job! In my free time I like to cook, run, spend time with family and friends, and volunteer (I've been helping with Girls on the Run for the past four years, and just started to get involved at the Old Soldiers Home in DC). Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Tracy F.

11/16/2010

Ryan & Julia D.

9/26/2010

Emily is terrific. She is very responsive and resposible. I would recommend her except I hope to keep her busy!!! :)

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

History, African American Studies

Graduated University of Virginia 2010

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Emily's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now