JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Babysitter in Gibsonton, FL 33534

Meet Vanessa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Who is Vanessa McAlister? Vanessa McAlister was born and raised in the south suburbs of Chicago, Illinois. After graduating from high school, she attended Elmhurst College and Chicago State University. Shortly after getting married in 1990, Vanessa began her career in education working as an Administrative Assistant to the school principal of one of Chicago's suburban elementary schools. She also gained experience, during this time, in the classroom as a teacher's aid. It was there that her passion for children and education grew. In 1998, Vanessa and her husband decided to move to the smaller city of Tallahassee, Florida to raise their daughters. Vanessa received a Bachelors degree in Public Administration from Barry University and a Masters degree with a specialty in Educational Leadership from Ashford University. She continued her work in education as a teacher and program specialist for elementary aged to high school students. During her time in Read more Tallahassee, Vanessa also began her work supporting families as a private caretaker serving as a nanny, babysitter, after-school caregiver and more for a wide range of ages. Vanessa and her family moved to the Atlanta area in the summer of 2012 and she continues her caregiving work today. Seeing the need for personal, quality childcare, Vanessa decided to start Nurturing Nanny with the mission to support families in the care, growth and nurturing of their children. Vanessa's commitment to care stems from her 26 years in public education as well as 15 years of experience as a private caretaker. She believes in nurturing children to their full potential and caring for them as they grow. Her experience continues to set her apart because of her firm belief in being an asset to families by creating a smooth transition of care for children. Feel free to contact me at anytime to learn more about how Nurturing Nanny can help your family. vanessamcalister@ymail.com (850) 264-7757

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 9/16/2018
  • My availability is valid through 9/23/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Felissa G.

6/17/2013

We just chose Vanessa to watch my son and so far she has been wonderful!! She has been very accomodating to our schedules. She is great with RIchard and he loves her. So glad we found her.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Education/Leadership Specialty

Ashford University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Vanessa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now