JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 51
  • Babysitter in Des Moines, IA 50312

Meet Patricia

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I'm a 40+ year old divorced mother of 2 teenagers who spend every weekend with their dad, and I recently lost my regular babysitting gig due to the kids' mom getting a FT teaching job (no longer needing to work weekend evenings - at a bar & grill). The kids are now 10, 6 and almost 4; I'd been caring for them for about 9 months (and still do occasionally), and I absolutely fell in love with them! I'm looking for a new family who needs me Friday and/or Saturday and/or Sunday. I'm flexible as far as times and length of hours (in fact, I would be open to occasional overnights). I've been trained in CPR and First Aid. I have a Master's Degree in English/Creative Writing (currently writing my first "official" novel), and I've been a stay-at-home mom since 2005. I also have babysitting experience dating back to high Read more school & college - and was a nanny for a family in CA and for one in Windsor Heights, both for a year. I love kids, and I would like to find another family who needs a responsible, reliable, honest, caring and compassionate babysitter during hours when many others are not willing to work. Obviously, I have a car (Ford Focus - insured) and a clean driving record, so no worries if kids need to be transported/picked up/dropped off/etc. I cook and clean up and give baths and enforce rules with counting to 3 then time-out (for kids who are old enough). I will consider other housekeeping tasks for additional pay. Please contact me for any other information you need. I do have references, but they will be provided later. Thank you for your consideration!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Ratings & reviews

Patricia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$25/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

English/Creative Writing

Graduated Iowa State University 1996

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Patricia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now