JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 21
  • Babysitter in Des Moines, IA 50315

Meet Barbara

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

To Whom It May Concern, I am writing to express my interest in the position of a child care provider/ nanny/or babysitter. The attached resume explains in detail my experiences and qualifications. I am currently a full-time student studying psychology at Iowa Wesleyan University. At present, I am at home on summer break and currently looking for a job. I graduated from Abraham Lincoln High school in 2016, I now attend Iowa Wesleyan University. Majoring in psychology was a must for me. I enjoy learning abut the human mind and how it works. My goal is to become a child psychologist. At an early age I developed a passion for helping others, a degree in psychology will allow me to do just that. I will be able to help others better understand themselves and their environments. I have babysat for family members, neighbors and, family friends. It gives me joy Read more to be able to assist and care for little innocent individuals who are unable to care for themselves. Before going away to college in I was in the process of training to become a substitute for my mothers in home daycare. I have a few certificates form those trainings, unfortunately I was unable to complete the training because of my busy schedule at school. I have gained experience from caring for my younger siblings, nephews and nieces. The training I gained from my studies, the substitute training, and caring for my younger ones has prepared me for a position such as this one. I am suitable for this as I have experience in caring for children. I consider myself to be a friendly, efficient, trusting and responsible worker. I would be an ideal candidate since I am young which enables me to be able to keep up with such energetic little children. I also love children and feel as though it is my duty to care for them. In my opinion children should be taken care of because they are such delicate beings, that with proper care can and will grow up to be individuals who will give back to their community. Thank you for taking the time to consider my application. I am available for contact and/or interview at any time. If you wish to contact me, you can do so on 515-771-1892. Should you require further information, do not hesitate to contact me. I look forward to hearing from you. Barbara Gartei,

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Ratings & reviews

Barbara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$9-$15/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)

Education

Psychology

Iowa Wesleyan College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Science
    • Essay writing

Share Barbara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now