JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 30 years paid experience
  • Age 57
  • Babysitter in Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

Meet Sheri

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi my name is Sheri Gilford and I live in the northern suburbs with my husband of almost 30 years and my dog named Olivia. I have no children but have 8 nieces and nephews. The oldest being 25 and the youngest 15. I am originally from Cherry Hill, NJ but moved out to Illinois in 1987 to be with my now husband. I have a older sister and brother who still live on the east coast. Both of my parents are deceased but my step mom still lives in south jersey. My husband is originally from Illinois and his mom lives in Northbrook. He lost his dad about 2 years ago. I've been an early childhood education professional for 30+ years, twenty-five of that in the northern Chicago suburbs. Most recently, I worked with toddlers, but have worked wit older children, up to Kindergarten. I went to NYU for Read more my initial early childhood education training, then to Oakton Community College, where I'm working on an Associate's degree. I'm hoping to finish that, if not at OCC then at College of Lake County. My focus in the classroom is on the basics that included: letter and number recognition, learning the days of the week, months and seasons of the year, and talking about the calendar and what the current date is. In group time, I read books & sang songs, just to name a few. Equally important as my relationship with your child is the one I have with you, to communicate your child's progress on a daily basis. You are the most important teacher your child will have ever have. I'm just a partner in that process. What one of us starts, the other has to continue, to reinforce what we both want your child to learn. It's an ongoing process, and so important in their early years, hen they learn the fastest. I am certified in CPR and First aid which I renew every year. I love to cook, read, watch movies, go to movies and be outside. During the summer I love being at the pool swimming. I would love the opportunity to discuss my qualifications with you. I am punctual, seldom absent and always willing to learn new things.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Sheri doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$13-$15/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Early Childhood Education

Attended Oakton Community College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Share Sheri's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now