JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 21
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60617

Meet Angela

  • Comfortable with pets

Hi, I’m Angela and am currently pursuing a degree in nursing from the University of Illinois in Chicago and plan to become a pediatric nurse. I transferred from U of I in Champaign, where I majored in Human Development and Family studies with a concentration in child development, so I'm very knowledgeable on kids and their behaviors. I’ve had experience working with kids in daycare, camp, and home settings, and overall, enjoyed them because I have a passion for working with kids. They are so innocent and honest and just fun to be around. Although they can be troublesome, I am naturally just patient with kids. Last summer I worked at a daycare called 5 Peas in a Pod Learning Academy on the West Side of Chicago where I was a teacher’s assistant. I looked after children newborn to about 7 years of age and my duties ranged from changing Read more diapers, to feeding, to creating fun games and activities for the children where they learned things like their ABS, colors, and shapes. I know how to provide kids with education to help them develop, while also creating a fun vibe for them. And in addition to this I am very responsible, especially when it comes to kids. I’ve handled putting kids down for naps, disciplining them in ways that they learn why their behavior was wrong, and also just keeping an eye on them in general and ensuring their safety. At the daycare I handled 4-6 kids at a time and while it was sometimes challenging, it was exciting for me, so I was able to be successful. In addition to this, I’ve had extensive experience working with infants, as I take care of my 8-month-old nephew much of the time. Although he is mischievous and very curious, and in the stage of learning how to walk, I have patience with him and I believe that is one of the most important qualities when caring for a child. That and having a positive attitude, because children pick up negative energy. All my life I’ve been a positive and bubbly person which is why that makes me a perfect candidate for working with children. And being around them just enhances my positive energy. Finally, I want to add that I am very dependable and adaptable. I understand that children get accustomed to certain routine schedules and I will respect and follow any put in place. Additionally, to this I’m not a person who stresses a lot. I don’t mean that I am careless, just that I know how to remain calm if emergency situations arise!!! Please contact me if interested Thankyoou!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Angela doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Human Development and Family Studies

Attended University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Angela's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now