JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 25 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60640

Meet Elizabeth

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there! I am an educated, married, grandmother and huge animal lover. A former local business owner and longtime resident of Andersonville. I have babysat for friends and family since the age of thirteen. I have been a nanny both full and part-time. Over the years, I took sometime off from care-giving to spend time with my own daughter and cultivate her love of science. I was that “science mom” who shuttled everybody and their projects to the museum for the fair. Luckily, it all paid off with receiving her PhD in cellular molecular biology and now lives and works for the Michael J. Fox Foundation in Canada. I have experience with newborns to young adults to the age of 20. I particularly enjoy working with toddlers and up, watching their personalities emerge. I love fostering their social development and educational growth. My belief in milestones while great indicators of Read more progress, every child will hit their stride when they are ready. I am concerned more with baby/child being healthy, thriving and responsive. I observe if there any early warning signs that need to be addressed. Delays in milestones more often than not will work themselves out but proactive intervention in more serious diagnoses is absolutely essential. I am very comfortable around older children, even the dreaded “tween” stage. As a parent, I did not allow my daughter to attend sleepovers nor, did I want them hanging out in the streets so with parental permission they could all stay over often juggling a dozen at once. I have been paid to host and monitor exchange students, and also young medical students from abroad. Outdoor adventures to include; parks, playground, play dates, sports, swimming, zoo, museums and any other planned activity that families have arranged. During inclement weather, arts and crafts, cooking/baking, games, imaginary play, music, movies, homework. I have worked with families who require ZERO screen-time to those without limitations, I defer to the parents wishes. I find that engaging children through conversation and activities, even those without restrictions will put the screen down and have some fun! I have first aid, BLS/CPR/AED certification, and a Servsafe food handling certificate. I have both criminal and motor vehicle background checks, an IL licensed and insured 2010 RAV4.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 1/1/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Lindsay R.

6/19/2019

Elizabeth has watched our 1 and 3 year old twice so far. She handled dinner time and bed time well. She brings a great energy and my 3 year old was immediately comfortable with her. She is detail oriented and at ease with kids. We’d have her back again!

Emily J.

3/5/2019

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$16-$22/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Justice Studies

Graduated Northeastern Illinois University 2014

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Elizabeth's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now