Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 37
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60601

Meet Kara

  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! I'm Kara and I'd love to help you care for your children. I have twenty years of experience working with children. My passion for children started as a teenager watching my mother run a daycare from our home. I've worked with children of all ages in their homes, daycare centers, public schools and in an emergency youth shelter. I have been a live-out nanny for five years. I am able to plan activities, make lesson plans, laundry, potty training, handle breast milk/formula and cooking. I am into health and fitness so being active with outdoor actives is fun for me. I am looking for a lovely family who will except me as family and I can be with long term.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Summer Position, Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/30/19

Ratings & reviews

3.5 3.5 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

1

0

Antoinette H.

12/26/2012

We hired Kara on one occasion and it seemed to go great. However, when trying to reach her for a second time she was hard to get a hold of both via phone and email. She confirmed that she would sit for us in a message and when I tried to confirm she did not return he call or messages. We explained we were looking for someone consistent and reliable when interviewing her. She definitely does not fit the bill. I would not hire her again.

Lorie B.

6/3/2011

Kara is the best babysitter we have had in a long time. We loved her great energy and smile. When asking my children to review Kara - my kids gave two thumbs up - WAY UP! ;-) They were asking her to come back the next day.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism

Education

Bachelor of Science in Sociology

Graduated Texas State University - San Marcos 2004

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now