JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 26
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60610

Meet Kaitlyn

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been excited about caring for children for as long as I can remember. As a big sister to two younger brothers, I grew up running around shadowing my mother and helping to take care of them. As I got older, I began to seek out opportunities to work with children as often as possible. I began babysitting for neighbors, family friends, and eventually strangers who had heard about my talent with children and contacted me themselves. I love working with kids and I have the ability to make a strong connection with them in a limited amount of time. My ability to work with children has been developed through a variety of activities. I tutored Kindergarten and 4th grade students at the local elementary schools throughout high school, and participated in education programs that allowed me to serve as a positive role model for those who needed one. Read more I also worked for Radio Disney for 5 years as a high-energy entertainer who danced and played games with kids for hours at a time, providing them with someone to make them smile and encourage them to pursue their dreams. At UCLA, I was a member of Cub Tours, a group that gives voluntary campus tours to underprivileged children to encourage them to pursue higher education. I also participated in Coaching Corps, a program that allows me to go to inner-city areas and coach children’s soccer clinics during the week. In terms of what types of families I typically work with, there really is no standard. I used to babysit regularly for one adorable little four year old girl whose fascination with dress-up and princesses took up all of our time. Another family had three incredible daughters (ages 2, 4, and 6) whose unending energy and love for all things active kept me running around for hours. Then there have also been the older boys who, as big bad fifth graders, don’t think they need a baby sitter at all. With these, I have successfully been able to get them to see me as a friend so that they respect my authority without feeling belittled. I have worked for many families with several pets, and I have lots of experience caring for cats and dogs of all types. My own miniature Australian Shepherd, Taz, has prepared me for even the most hyper and attention seeking of pets, and I am able to balance caring for children and animals at the same time. I believe that no child is the same as the next, and I’m very adaptable when it comes to finding out what works best in every situation.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file
  • University of California - Los Angeles

    University of California - Los Angeles

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Kaitlyn doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Political Science- International Relations

Graduated University of California - Los Angeles 2014

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kaitlyn's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now