JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60615

Meet Laurel

  • Speaks French and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have extensive babysitting experience, most recently with three families living around my university, while I was at university. I really enjoyed getting to know all of the kids and was always flexible as to the requests of the parents with taking care of their children in different ways. For one family, I spent all of Tuesday with the children, from the time they got back from school to when they went to sleep. These afternoons and evenings involved helping with homework, making dinner, cleaning up the house a bit, walking the dogs, and really getting to know them and keeping them engaged. The parents were confident in having me drive the children around to various after school activities. With the other two families, I babysat more irregularly after schools and on weekends. I love to stay active with all of the children I babysit and am open to any Read more and all recommendations from the parents! Other work that I have done with children involves being a long-term mentor for a child while at University, a camp counselor for a YMCA overnight summer camp and an Americorps summer intern to plan programming for children in an affordable housing community. Now that I am in the Bay Area, I have one job babysitting for a 1 1/2 year old in SF and look forward to meeting more families.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and late nights
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 7/1/14

Ratings & reviews

Laurel doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Anthropology and French

Graduated University of Vermont 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French
    • Spanish

Share Laurel's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now