JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 24
  • Babysitter in Louisville, KY 40207

Meet Shelby

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Starting at 6 years old, my aunts and uncles started having plenty of children and when I became old enough, around 13, they would all ask me to babysit their children ranging from 7 to newborns! I have grown up taking care of the children in my family and have always loved taking care of them. When I was 14 my grandparents' neighbors hired me to babysit their 3 children, one having special needs. I did that for about a year. Sophomore year of high school I performed service for my school at an elementary school with a class of children with special needs and connected with one child in particular. His grandmother was contacted because he was a very big problem child for the school but was completely calm with me, she wanted my number and I became his brother and his' new nanny for a summer! It was Read more an amazing experience but also tested me. I still think about him all the time because he taught me incredible patience and understanding. Later in high school, summer before my senior year; I was hired to work at a daycare, Whitehall Daycare in Louisville KY. I worked there everyday for about a year and a half and I miss it every single day. I absolutely love working with children, I always have, and that is why when I made the move to Lexington, because I am a sophomore at UK, I knew the only job I would really enjoy on top of my school would be a job working or taking care of children.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Shelby doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$13-$22/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Mental Illness
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Bachelors of Arts in Psychology

Graduated University of Kentucky 2017

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Essay writing
    • French

Share Shelby's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now