JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 47
  • Babysitter in Middletown, MD 21769

Meet Heather

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, my name is Heather and I'm a 42 year old mother with three children, a dog and a cat. My boys are 17 and 14 and my daughter is 12. We moved to Reading from Maryland in June 2012 and I really miss my preschool teaching job (3 year old class). I was looking for a part time job, with children, close to Reading. I have a Bachelor's in Elementary Education, an Associate's in Psychology and have worked as a substitute teacher, preschool teacher and I even did a few months in the day care environment right out of college. I was fortunate enough to be a stay at home mom for many years, which I filled with joining the local church's Mom's Day Out program and volunteering in my children's classrooms. In Reading, I am active in the PTO program & RMHS Marching Band Parent Organization at my Read more kids' schools. Besides my own three children, I've have watched my twin niece and nephew (who are now 7) when they were newborns, and also watched a child when she was three months old until she was about 10. I worked in the nursery at our old church, too. I think the most important rule for working with children is to love and respect them first. Then, naturally, the teachable moments fall into our day. I love going for walks with children, taking them the park, doing arts and crafts while giving them time for free play and also working on social skills. For newborns, I think reading to them is very important and helping them develop a schedule and sense of trust. I am also a dog and cat person and have no issues taking care of or walking your pets. I also have a minivan and am available to drive your child to places within reason. Thanks!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Available to start on 9/20/2014
  • My availability is valid through 12/4/14

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Miriam C.

8/31/2014

Heather is great - I am hoping I can find more sitters like her (for backup)! We stopped looking when we found her because she's everything you'd hope for - she's doing this because she loves kids (hers are in high school now) and not for a paycheck. Of course people need to make a living so I'd never hold that against someone but it's always wonderful to find someone who would likely do this for nothing ;-) She's always punctual, brings in any packages on our stoop, and tries to help out however she can. We have a fairly regular appointment but my mom is sometimes available to sit. Heather doesn't mind letting grandma help out when she can. Most importantly, our son is comfortable with her ;-) Highly recommended!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Elementary Education

Graduated Salisbury University 1994

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Heather's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now