JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 22
  • Babysitter in Gorham, ME 04038

Meet Emily

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there! My name is Emily and I am a college sophomore at USM majoring in Exercise Science. I live in an apartment near school and would like to make some money babysitting for children or pets to help with living expenses. For my experience with children, I worked at Happy Campers Daycare in Farmingdale, ME for about six months. While there I would watch up to twelve children at a time between the ages of 4 months and 8 years. My duties were to prepare food, clean the children and rooms, and watch over them to make sure they were behaving. I ended my job there to attend my first semester of college. In February of this year I was hired at Winthrop Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine in Winthrop, ME as a Patient Representative. My duties there were to answer phone calls, schedule appointments and check in patients. I Read more worked at this job for six months also and during that time I learned a lot about child sicknesses, and how to carefully listen to the patients and their parents and respectfully show empathy, as well as trying to make them comfortable. A side note about caring for children- I recently got CPR certified and would know what to do in a situation if a child needs CPR or is choking. As for experience with pets, I have grown up with a variety of pets from dogs to hamsters and throughout high school had different jobs of pet sitting and dog walking for neighbors. I have experience with very hyper dogs and know how to walk them correctly on a leash and I understand about dog safety when it comes to other dogs and strangers. I also have experience in helping to train a deaf American Bulldog sign language and learning how to handle deaf dogs. Also for a few months in high school I volunteered at the Kennebec Valley Humane Society working on socializing, cleaning and feeding the cats. This was something that I love and hope to get back to soon. In conclusion, I very much enjoy being around children and pets and nurturing and caring for them comes naturally to me. I also believe that brain and body activity are very important especially for busy children and hyper pets and I would be able to come up with exercises to get their energy out! Baby sitting and dog sitting would be the optimal part time job for me during this school year and I can't wait to get started and look forward to meeting you and your families!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Emily doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$11-$16/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Exercise Science

Currently attending University of Southern Maine

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Emily's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now