JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 22
  • Babysitter in Kalamazoo, MI 49009

Meet Mercedes

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Mercedes but most everyone I know calls me Cedes. I am a student studying Social Work. My career goal is to become a therapist. Being a people person, I believe care giving is a vital necessity throughout all stages of life. I have worked at Roeper Summer Day Camp, caring and playing with children ages 3-14. As much as I loved the excitement of the camp and I am fortunate for the training it provided, I am more interested in a one-on-one experience which is personally better overall for bonding and creating meaningful relationships. In addition to the camp, I also have experience doing regular babysitting jobs, being a nanny, as well as volunteering at a nursing home, working at a movie theatre, and mentoring individuals with disabilities both adult and young adult. I mentored/tutored children during the week at a church near my college campus Read more as apart of the Salvation Army after school program. I am the youngest in my family, although I do feel as though I have to "babysit" my older siblings sometimes. I tend to be the mediator in many situations, hence my passion for therapy. I was born in Bogota, Colombia. When I was there I had the opportunity to travel to my orphanage and take care of infants for the week. I fed them, introduced toys, and held them as they fell asleep in my arms after a long day of playing. This was a life-changing experience as I have never been back since I was born ( I traveled to Colombia two summers ago). I am so glad I had the opportunity to combine my love for children and exploring my country for the first time. I was raised in Bloomfield, Michigan with a loving family and an array of pets. I enjoy being outdoors as well as reading, listening to music, cooking/baking and watching movies. I am excited to be back home in Bloomfield at the very start of May ready to help out. I am CPR Certified and I have my own car. Look forward to hearing from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Available to start on 1/15/2018
  • My availability is valid through 4/14/18

Ratings & reviews

Mercedes doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Social Work

Currently attending Western Michigan University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Mercedes's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now