Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Hopkins, MN 55343

Meet Mariah

  • Speaks English and German
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! I am vaccinated! My name is Mariah, I have 16 years of childcare experience, I am certified in CPR and First Aid, I have experience with all age groups, I also speak German, I passed the Nanny Skills Exam, and I love kids! :) I work full-time for UnitedHealth Group and I am a Big Brothers Big Sisters mentor. I also used to be a Girl Scouts volunteer. I graduated from the University of St. Thomas in May 2016 with degrees in HR Management and Music. I am seeking occasional babysitting jobs during the school year and/or summer. I am mom-approved, I always do dishes and light cleaning after the kids go to sleep, and I am not a TV sitter; I will involve your children in age-appropriate activities. I was a full-time nanny for a family with 3 school-age boys in Fargo, ND during the summer. I transported Read more them to and from their activities, we played a lot of sports, and we went on various "field trips" to places like Yunker Farm, the Red River Zoo, the library, etc. I don't think we spent more than a couple of non-consecutive hours a week inside the house. I also tutored a Kindergartner in reading and math and an incoming third grader in reading, math, and spelling. I am an active outdoors person who loves to play all kinds of sports (volleyball, golf, basketball, Frisbee golf, soccer, softball, football, etc.) and I love to play sports with the children in my care. I am a bit of a tomboy myself, so I have no problem with throwing a spiral or shooting hoops. The fine arts also play a huge role in my life. I was involved in musicals, drama, and dance in high school and choir in college. I have found that most children love to take part in acting games or sing-a-longs of some kind. Sometimes I teach them simple dance moves from a musical I've been in like Singing' in the Rain or All Shook Up. Rates: I charge $18 per hour for the first child and $2 per hour extra for each additional child. Thank you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Pending. Check for results soon.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 07/29/2014

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Victoria C.


Terrae W.


Mariah has cared for our preschooler twice now to allow us to get out for dates nights. She is friendly, communicative and engaging. Our daughter loves that Mariah comes prepared with fun toys and we love that it allows an easy out for us as our daughter is happily playing when we leave. We’ve come back to a picked up and organized home and peacefully sleeping kiddo. We couldn’t be happier.

Tom J.


Mariah was great! We highly recommend her and hope to have her babysit more in the future!

Oyin H.


Mariah is the first non-family member of very close friend to watch our infant son. She was great about meeting us a few days ahead of time to make sure we were comfortable with her. She is quick to respond to communication, very easy to work with, and very receptive to directions we gave her for watching our child and working through his bedtime routine. For all the anxiety I had about leaving my child with a stranger for the first time, by the time we walked out the door I was feeling cool, calm, and collected and knew my son was in great hands. She kept us updated throughout the night with how he was doing, and when we got home gave us a thorough rundown of everything that happened while we were away. Definitely hope to have her watch our little one again.

Apple C.


We never tried hiring a babysitter before and was really nervous. When we first met her she is very calm and has brought stuff with her that will help my toddler get entertained. I gotta share that my daughter is one of those that does not really get along fast with new faces, but she was just fine with Mariah. She did not even notice us go because she was already busy with Ms Mariah! I for one couldnt be more happier to have met her. It helps to know that next time we have somewhere to go we wont be scrambling to ask our friends. Thank You again for making my daughter happy. She was like "I dont want her to go. I want to play with her again" all during bedtime. And that again is someone that does not warm up fast to anyone. I hope this review will help other parents other there that are first times.

Janna V.


We've only had a sitter for our son a handful of times (nervous first-time parents!) and Mariah did a great job! Put us right at ease. Thank you!

Lily R.


My daughter had a blast with Mariah this weekend. Mariah was on time, brought a bag of toys, and took great care of my daughter. Would definitely book Mariah again. In fact, the next morning, my daughter asked, "When's Mariah coming back?" Highly recommend!

Madeline W.


Mariah is a very responsible and caring sitter. Scheduling with her is a breeze with her on-line calendar available for you to look through. She sends calendar invitations, communicates frequently, and makes everything very easy for the parents! On the kids' side, Mariah was really fun! They told me stories the next day about how she played with them and made them laugh. They usually aren't so detailed, but they were with her. We will definitely be using Mariah again soon!

Melanie B.


I have had Mariah babysit twice now for my toddler and newborn. We are very comfortable with her and think she's fantastic. Mariah came to the house both times with books and toys to keep our toddler entertained. The second time she came, my daughter was excited all day that Mariah would be coming with books and toys for her. No matter how many toys a child has, they tend to get pretty excited about anything new or different. We also noticed that Mariah picks up and does dishes. This is something I always did back in my own babysitter days, but I haven't found that to be the norm with our sitters. Another thing I appreciate about Mariah is that she sends out a text message with her availability. We have found Mariah to be dependable, flexible, and willing to do what she can to accomodate us.

Vanessa B.


Mariah was very good with our son (5 yo), as we had a last-minute need for a babysitter right at bedtime. She communicated with us really well, and jumped right in to read him bedtime stories and got him to sleep. Will definitely be calling on her again!

Linda V.


Mariah babysit for our family for the first time last weekend. She was on time, brought a basket of games and toys with her and my children loved her. We definately will have her back!


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Administering Medication
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Business Administration, HR Management, and Music

Graduated University of St. Thomas - Saint Paul 2016

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • German

Share Mariah's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now