JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 25 years paid experience
  • Age 67
  • Babysitter in Columbia, MO 65205

Meet Mary

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello Parents! My name is Mary. I have recently retired from a career in human services. The majority of my career, more than 25 years, has been in early childhood care and education. And I hope to continue working as a Nanny, Babysitter, Care Provider for many years. I have a Master's degree in clinical psychology, a Child Development Associate credential in Infant-Toddler care, am certified in infant-child first aid and cpr; and I have clearance from the Missouri Family Safety Registry. My most recent employer was Central Missouri Community Action Early Head Start, based in Columbia, Missouri . I was with this great agency from January 2010 through August 2016. During part of this tenure, I worked in infant-toddler classrooms, as part of a team providing nurturing care and developmental guidance for children ages 6 weeks to 3 years of age. During much of my time with CMCA, I Read more also worked in home based services focused on families with infants and toddlers. In the home visitor role, I worked with parents and children to facilitate parent-child activities, support parenting with child development guidance and goal-setting for each child, and provide health and safety information and advocacy. I have had many roles in early childhood care and education prior to my job with CMCA. These have included Primary Care Provider in Family Child Care Homes, Classroom Teacher, Head Start Education Coordinator, Master Teacher and Site Director, Children's Services Coordinator, Child Care Department Director, and Child Care Center Director. Of these roles, none has been more gratifying than those which gave me opportunities to care directly for children. I support children's growth and learning through play and interaction with their environment, and through the development of positive, nurturing relationships. Support in these key areas fosters curiosity, exploration, safety, a strong sense of self, and overall healthy development. I can provide you with excellent references and would be happy to answer any questions you may have. I hope to hear from you so that we can discuss your needs and expectations for child care, and how my experience and personal qualities may fit with those. Thanks for considering me in taking this important step for your family. Mary Vaughn

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 6/1/19

Ratings & reviews

Mary doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$14-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Delayed Speech
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Clinical Psychology

Eastern Michigan University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Mary's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now