JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 35
  • Babysitter in Astoria, NY 11106

Meet Dana

  • Speaks French and Japanese
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! I am a professional Actress, Singer & Dancer in theater and film as well as a full-time student doing online courses. I'm currently in a general studies course, but planning on maneuvering into psychology soon. In addition to performing, I have years of experience teaching Dance, Musical Theatre, Mask Work, English through Drama (in Japan) and leading an Arts Empowerment Program to young children, teens and adults. I have also excelled in many scenarios such as reception in litigation offices, admin assisting in small companies, and retail/service industry experience. I also do a lot of mindfulness training which I bring to all my work modalities. My history in child care goes back to babysitting when I was a young teen after completing a babysitting course and have done so intermittently since. From working one on one to large groups as a teacher, I love working with children & have many Read more years of experience with kids from diverse backgrounds. 20 + years later, I have had regular clients: ex 2 girls under 10 who we got along famously, but also can jump in and meet and work with children well last minute. I am able and happy to prepare healthy meals and am very Eco-concious. It is important to me to connect those I work with with and support a great self of esteem in a child though positive re-enforcement, while also understanding the importance of structure. I am very creative, so I love the arts, playing, make-believe, singing... and as a dancer am very active, so I love sports too, I am also good with writing and the sciences.   PET CARE! My friends are now referring to me as the cat AND dog whisperer! lol! I am awesome with animals, having done a number of pet sitting situations. In addition, I often care for my friends pets, from a special needs miniature poodle to a young, high-energy Dalmatian, to our skittish rescue cat who we have been very successfully rehabilitating. 

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/17/17

Ratings & reviews

Dana doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Theatre Arts

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theatre

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French
    • Japanese

Share Dana's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now