Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in Brooklyn, NY 11212
  • 8 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Shemasie

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

I am 18 years old and recently graduated high school. In the past and currently I baby sit for many family members and friends. In addition to that I intern at my old high school in the middle school department for 5 months. I interacted with over 100 children, assisting them with their homework, play games and even resolve their problems if any arise. I must say it was truly amazing working with them for they made me love kids even more. I also intern with FDNY assisting in their weekly community block parties. I interact with children of all different background and nationalities. I was amazing when the children asked me if it's fun being a fire fighter but all I can do is smile. Working with children is a dream come through and it helps me build experience towards my career as an early childhood educator.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported


  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Shemasie doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$9-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Shemasie's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now