JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11222

Meet Camila

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I'm a warm, thoughtful, playful, and responsible sitter. I've lived in Colombia, Dallas, Chicago, Portland, and OKC, traveled around South America for 8 months and am now stationed in north Brooklyn. I am eager to find stability in the city after all the adventuring! I have a FT 9-5pm position in FiDi working in product management and legal service, but really miss being around kiddos and am hoping to fill my nights and weekends with family or two. What kind of sitter am I, you ask? Well, I've babysat since the age of 14 with family friends/neighbors. I also tutored toddler and elementary aged children in Spanish during my undergrad career. 2 years ago I nannied full-time a newborn and his 4 year-old brother for approximately for 4 months. When I first moved to NYC last year, I nannied for 3 families and had a blast! I really strive to Read more connect with kids on a deeper level, in a nurturing and loving way, but also by developing genuine relationships with them. I believe it is imperative that they feel understood, and it's fun to enter their imaginations and push their curious world. This can be by picking their brains, jumping outside, talking in silly voices, dance parties, getting creative in the kitchen or with art. I delight in these moments. Though I enjoy indulging and being energetic, I try to be firm when it comes to rules, boundaries and the such, and follow parental leadership. Additionally, my recent career position in Portland as a Paralegal in a non-profit children's advocacy firm required daily home/school visits to kids in the foster care system and juveniles in the justice system, where I thoroughly investigated their caretakers and made sure their needs were being met, both at home and school. I developed genuine relationships with many longtime clients and found it to be extremely rewarding. I have done volunteer work, for example not long ago for the Children's Cancer Association’s award-winning program, Chemo Pal. CCA matches adults with children undergoing cancer to provide a sunny and supportive friendship. More about me... I'm a positive and self-motivated individual, passionate about wellness, the arts, the outdoors, social justice issues, and whole heartedly believe in the pursuit of lifelong learning, When appropriate, I am happy to pass on these values! I receive joy when interacting with kids, believe they are the future of our world and am confident I would be a positive influence in the lives of yours!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/9/17

Ratings & reviews

Camila doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional

Education

International Studies, Advertising and Public Relations

Graduated Loyola University of Chicago 2013

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Camila's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now