Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11218

Meet Megan

  • Comfortable with pets

I am an outgoing 34 year old female from Colorado who moved to New York about 5 years ago. I am fully vaccinated and boosted (Moderna). In the past, I worked for a Caregiving Agency for over a decade, providing care to children ages 3 months to 13 years old. My job required me to adapt very quickly to the needs of different households and earn the trust of both the parents and the child. I understand how to cultivate a fun environment for your child while enforcing the rules and boundaries set forth by the parents. Additionally, I maintained a certification in First Aid/CPR for both infant and child adult training. I can cook, help with homework, read books, practice after school activities or any other myriad tasks that may come up. Supplementally, I have taught English to elementary and middle school children in Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Kenya, and Read more completed a Teach English as a Foreign Language certificate program in Prague. Finally, I grew up with dogs and functioned as a dog walker when I first moved to the city and therefore am very comfortable around family pets. 2018-2020, I worked for one family who had one 4-year old boy (and continued until age 6). Because of the ongoing pandemic, the family left the city permanently and I currently work part-time with another family with children ages 6 and almost 9. They are moving soon (June) and I a looking for opportunities again. I am an actor and love anything to do with the creative arts! I worked at an Off-Broadway theatre in pre-pandemic times and love any chance to use my imagination and tell stories. Being from Colorado, I love being outside and learning about our relationship with the environment and food and bringing that back into the kitchen. Given the times, I would also like to mention that I am very aware of the current pandemic and take extra precautions to limit my exposure to COVID-19. I wear a mask when I go outside, wash my hands constantly, and avoid large gatherings and public transit. I am fully vaccinated (as are the 2 roommates I live with).

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 04/15/2022

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 03/28/2022

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

4.8 4.8 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

1

0

0

0

Mallon F.

3/28/2022

Naomi E.

2/21/2022

Meg is lovely. She has a ton of experience, is very professional and great with kids. So far we have only used her twice, but we will definitely contact her in the future.

Susan L.

4/5/2021

Emily G.

2/25/2021

Meg is responsible, reliable, smart. She has a calm and quiet demeanor but is also playful and engaging. She’s been a great caregiver to our kids.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$25-$35/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Alzheimer's
    • Cancer
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Administering Medication
    • Repositioning

Education

University of South Carolina - Columbia

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Megan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now