Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 58
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11209

Meet Joan

  • Comfortable with pets

I have lived with my family in Bay Ridge my entire life.  I am the eldest of 3 children and cared for my brother and sister since I was 13 Five days a week while our parents worked. The basic rule was Homework 1st and then playtime. My own Son and 2 Nieces are 29 and 23, respectively. They enjoyed growing up together and we always did homework 1st and then fun & games. I don't think theres one board game I don't know; baseball & basketball too. In between I babysat for my neighbor's twins and my friend's son whenever I had a free moment.  I now have a 2 and a half year old Grandson who I get to play with every weekend. I love spending time with children and always have. Sometimes I think they teach us as much as we teach them. I have recently ended a  job caring for a 6-month Read more old girl (now a year and a half) and her 4-year old brother (now 5). I also have flexibility for weekend/date night situations.  My references are available on this site along with a completed background check.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/25/19

Ratings & reviews

4.3 4.3 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

2

0

0

0

Aleksandra K.

6/19/2017

Joan is very responsible and reliable nanny. Kind and caring.

Sara B.

8/21/2014

Joan has been sitting for us for about a month, and my 17-month-old really likes her - they go out to the park a lot, play, she gets him to eat good lunches, everything's great. We're only switching childcare because I want to get him into a Russian-language environment.

Lavinia S.

5/6/2014

Joan has cared for our 21 month old daughter for the past year and a half. During that time, Joan has been nothing but gentle and nurturing towards our daughter. She has been attentive towards our parenting requests as our daughter has grown from an infant to a toddler. Joan has been enthusiastic in making sure our daughter has a chance to get some fresh air and go outside; whether it be an extended trip to a nearby park, or a stroller ride around the local area. Joan has met all of our little girl's needs throughout the time that she has been with us. Joan has our full recommendation.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$14-$16/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Education

English/Education

Graduated LIU

References

Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

Share Joan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now