Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11209

Meet Maria

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello Maria here. I'm 100% children focused: playing games, reading books, trips, homework help, etc.    Seeking occasional work before noon or after 7pm, as I have a part time position I'm very happy about. I clean up after any activity or meal.    I don't use the computer -- unless it’s for an activity for the children.  Rarely use the phone. I grew up cooking Italian food, cooked vegetarian at a Retreat Center, and can cook pretty much any food that children enjoy – often from scratch.       As the eldest of 5 children it was often my job to watch my siblings who were 1 to 14 years younger than I was.  My first job, at age 10, was babysitting a neighbor’s child while the parents enjoyed date nights.  At age 14 I babysit for 2 girls, 24 hr a day, all weekend and took 2 buses to Read more get to and from their home.    I've babysat for my nephews and nieces (I have 10 of them, 6 in one family), sometimes at their home, often at mine, and watching up to 6 of them at a time.  I mentored 3 children in foster care and they stayed at my home 1 weekend a month. I have also mentored nearly 400 teens, and have two community service awards. I was not blessed to have children of my own.  Often I "borrow" children whose families I met at church to spend a day enjoying life with them. We've gone to museums, on picnics, for walks, done gardening, and enjoyed parks, the beach, play games, cards, gone to movies, etc. I teach children old NYC streets games, sometimes we watch movies and play games, often we cook together. I have been employed by PARKS at an after school center and can do lots of crafts, homework, day trips, etc. I play the accordion (not well any more) but have taught children to read music and play very basic songs. I have a CPR and First Aid Certification that expired in May 2020. I have not renewed due to Covid. I was bonded by a Tax Advisory firm and also on Wall Street, when I worked there. I was brought up cooking Italian food, cooked vegetarian at a retreat house, and cook age appropriate foods for or with children. I have two masks and am very careful regarding underlying condition regarding Covid, Since Feb 2021, I have taken a train once -- to go to jury duty. Have not been on train. I have a car... but no air conditioning. I have lots of references.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 06/22/2022

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 07/06/2016

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 01/13/2015

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/19/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

5

0

0

0

0

Dolores M.

10/5/2021

Scott F.

11/19/2016

Maria is the the best sitter we've had to date, and we've tried almost a dozen. She does what she says, and she really does relate to children. Great personality and tough when she needs to be, which help with my children! AND...she can cook!! Yum:) -Stefani Ford

Chisa L.

11/24/2014

I have a 13 months old daughter. My husband and I were able to go out today without worrying anything about our baby thanks to Maria who is very professional and reliable. Maria brought many children books, which our daughter got interested in. Also, Maria is good at interacting with a baby. I'm sure my daughter had a fun time with Maria today! In addition, my dog likes her, too:)

Heidi Q.

4/21/2012

Maria is always very reliable, and my son loves having her over! He has a lot of fun with her, and I would definitely recommend her!

Sarah P.

4/15/2012

Maria rescued me in a short-notice situation. She came prepared with a few games and a lot of experience. We haven't had a lot of babysitters for our kids but Maria's top-notch care and availability make her our first choice childcare provider. I would recommend her to others, and I know all ages of children would feel comfortable with her.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$25-$35/hr for the first child, $4 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Maria's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now