Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 25 years paid experience
  • Age 38
  • Babysitter in Jamaica, NY 11435

Meet Sophia

  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! I’m Sophia. I have both professional and personal experience working with young people. In College, I obtained a degree in Family Science, and soon after started my teaching career which included being an Early Head Start Teacher through Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, MD. I also have experience as both a Children’s Program Director for a Non-Profit and tutor for middle school students. My most recent (personal) experience working with children is being a mom of three busy boys, ages 7, 5, and 3. Nurturing and providing care for young people is one of the most important jobs in society. I really do believe it takes special attentiveness and a person who genuinely enjoys being with children to do the job. As a parent, I understand some of the anxiety that can be present when trying to find quality care for your child. Being on both sides, I can Read more say that I do my best to put a parent’s mind at ease while providing good service.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons

Ratings & reviews

Sophia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Cerebral Palsy

Additional services

  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Sophia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now