JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 26
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10128

Meet Shay

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I've had babysitting experience for the last 8 years with a variety of ages from newborns to teens. Most of my experience has been with newborns and toddlers, but I also have experience with teenagers. I also have babysitting experience with an autistic child. I have also mentored and tutored two third-grade students for over a year, so I have experience with a variety of ages and teaching (or implementing school work). I just graduated from University of Rochester, with honors as a premed student so right now I am taking time off before medical school. Also, I live on the UES. I love babysitting, and I started babysitting when I was in late junior high/high school. As a psychology major, I realize the early years and into adolescence are critical learning years for children, and I know how important it is to be trusting, reliable, and positive for children. Read more I am incredibly patient, active (I enjoy running in my free time), and most importantly friendly/easy to get along with. I think I'm a unique babysitter in that I enjoy being outdoors, taking kids to the park, and I believe in childcare without technology! Monopoly, parks, and writing with chalk outside are all fun things I am more than happy to do with your kids! I am also happy to implement technology into their lives through learning applications and such if that is something you would like!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Shay doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Autism
    • Bathing
    • Feeding Assistance

Education

Biology and Psychology

University of Rochester

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Shay's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now