Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 11 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10033

Meet Aja

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! My name is Aja (pronounced like the continent Asia) Edwards, I'm originally from Lakeville, MN, but currently live in New York City. By day I work at a fashion, beauty, luxury lifestyle PR agency in Manhattan, and in my free-time I love going to Crunch, spending time with friends and, I'll admit, wasting time on Netflix. I've loved kids my entire life. I started watching my younger siblings, Haley and Lee, when I was 13 when my parents needed the extra help. Ever since, I've helped a lot of families by becoming their go-to babysitter. I babysat for neighborhood families for date nights, and eventually worked my way up to nannying for a couple families. While in high school and after my first year of college, I worked at the Child Center at Lifetime Fitness. The experience was great working working with varying ages and personalities. While in school, Read more I babysat regularly for three families, and nannied for one over the course of three years. The Muellers, the family I nannied for my final two years at NU, is the family I'm closest with. I watched Anisha and Roshan three times a week, mainly helping with after-school needs. I'd make dinner, pick-up around the house, pick-up the kids, feed them, help with homework, bathe, brush teeth and get them in bed. To wrap up the night, I'd finish clean-up after dinner, finishing picking up around the hose, and whatever else Shalini needed that night. Besides the weekly schedule, on occasion, I'd help out on the weekends by taking the kids on an outing, and I've cared for them while Shalini and Kurt were out of town. The Mullers now reside in NYC, and I still see them once a month. They're a wonderful family and I was so lucky they chose me to be their caregiver. They've given me such wonderful memories. Needless to say, I have a lot of experience when it comes to watching and caring for children. If you'd like to know more, please don't hesitate to reach out!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file
  • Northwestern University

    Northwestern University

Availability

  • Generally available evenings and weekends

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

14

0

0

0

0

Ariel R.

2/5/2017

Aja is fantastic. She has great energy and hit it off with my son right away. Best of all was sleeping when we got home :)

Sittercity Parent

11/26/2016

Catherine C.

10/30/2016

Aja was fantastic and engaging with my little guys aged 3 and 5.

Sittercity Parent

10/24/2016

My kids really like Aja and we will definitely be asking her to sit for us again!

Sittercity Parent

10/8/2016

Aja was amazing! We would definitely book her again!

Sharone M.

9/18/2016

She was great! Our son is having some attachment issues but she was great with him and made us feel extremely comfortable leaving him with her. Highly recommend!

Sittercity Parent

8/10/2016

Abbey N.

8/10/2016

Sittercity Parent

8/10/2016

Kevin R.

8/10/2016

Aja was great

Sittercity Parent

4/8/2016

Aja is very nice and upbeat and my kids really like her.

Sittercity Parent

3/8/2016

very sweet and punctual. Would definitely ask for her again. My kids loved her!

Abbey N.

12/20/2015

Sittercity Parent

8/23/2015

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Journalism

Graduated Northwestern University 2013

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science

Share Aja's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now