JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 13 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10040

Meet Cj

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! My name is CJ Cochran, and I am originally from Minneapolis, MN, but I have lived in NYC for the last year. I have been a teacher, nanny, youth counselor, camp counselor, as well as babysitter for a compiled 12-13 years. I have my Bachelors in Sciences, and my major was Sociology from Beloit College. This past year, upon moving to New York, I was a live-in nanny for a wonderful family, The Valdez family, a 8-month year old and a 2-year old boy during the weekends. I had the great opportunity of growing with them, and feeling apart of the family. I had the opportunity of building a strong communication style with the family, and was able to help them develop and implement discipline and a positive environment for their children, to promote their desired behavior. It being my first year in New York City, it was the Read more most welcoming experience, being with a family and having the opportunity to strengthen my skills with working with children in a home. As well as Nannying, I was a youth counselor at a drop-in center. During college, I worked at a summer camp for a variety of urban youth, aged 6-18 for 7 summers. After graduation, I was a Guidance Counselor and a special-education assistance teacher in Chicago for 2.5 years. I worked with students with a variety of learning and social/emotional needs. The passion and dedication I have for education is realistic and ever present. I love working with all ages of youth and I would love to grow with a family in a long-term placement, where the development of relationships and goals is promising. I am very comfortable with all parts of transportation in NYC, and I love to travel around the metropolitan area. I am very much a people and youth person, I enjoy building lasting relationships and mentorships with our youth for the betterment of their and our lives. I don't think there is any other job, working with youth, that I could see myself doing. Nannying and teaching have driven my passion for working with kids. I have also been a lifeguard, and I enjoy cooking very healthy food! Being from the Midwest, I enjoy running (I've run in college and 2 marathons), camping, hiking, swimming, sightseeing, and exploring in and anywhere. I have a thirst for life and adventure. I took a gap year after high school, and I lived in Ghana, South Africa, and Jamaica for a total of 1 year. People would describe me as outgoing, reliable, and compassionate. I look forward to hearing from you on the potential of meeting your family.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/22/17

Ratings & reviews

Cj doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$28/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Seizures
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Sociology, Education, and Health (Double Major, with a minor)

Graduated Beloit College 2014

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Cj's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now