JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10033

Meet Sowmya

  • Speaks English, Hindi, and Urdu
  • Comfortable with pets

I recently graduated with an M.A. in Clinical Psychology from Teachers College, Columbia University, and currently work part-time as a Graduate Fellow for the United Nations - Association for Trauma Outreach and Prevention MeaningfulWorld. I specialized in the ‘Child and Family’ concentration within my program and have a plethora of knowledge on childrens' socio-emotional development, as well as extensive experience working with toddlers, pre-schoolers, middle schoolers and adolescents within home, school, clinical and research settings (please see CV for details). I worked as a Kid Coach for a reputed organization known as Future Possibilities for Kids as well as a Child Counselor for an After School program where I was involved in developing fun and exciting activities for our kids that would keep them meaningfully engaged, and promote character building. I have previous experience babysitting, and get along great with kids of all ages. My goal in life is to Read more become a Child Clinical Psychologist and help children enrich their lives by providing them with the most positive and enriching environment in which they can flourish. I am very good at establishing rapport with kids at first meeting, engaging them in enjoyable and meaningful experiences, and planning and initiating fun and innovative activities with a deep desire to create a positive impact in their lives. I am a friendly, approachable, loving, and compassionate person, and have 5 years of experience working with children. I would love to babysit your child! Feel free to contact me by message at Sittercity!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Sowmya doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Dyslexia
    • Mental Illness
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Clinical Psychology

Graduated Columbia University in the City of New York 2017

Additional services

  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sowmya's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now