Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10029

Meet Laurelai

  • Speech Therapist
  • Speaks Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Laurelai and I am a speech-language pathologist at a local school. Currently I work primarily with elementary students but I have experience working with all ages including infants. I am looking for part-time, occasional, and one-time babysitting opportunities. I grew up with three much younger siblings so I have been around children my whole life! I have worked as a child caretaker in a church, a toddler room supervisor, a nanny, and I have been babysitting for many years. I am CPR/First Aid certified for all ages (infant-adult). Summer of 2009 I worked at an orphanage in Guatemala which was a phenomenal experience. In January 2014 I took a trip to Ecuador with my program to help diagnose and treat children in an orphanage there as well! I also have sign language experience. I have worked with multiples (twins and triplets) and children with special needs such Read more as cerebral palsy and oppositional/defiant disorder. I have experience working with newborns, toddlers, and school-aged children. In college I minored in vocal performance because I love to sing! I also played violin for 10+ years. I am able to help children with homework. I can prepare simple meals for kids and can drive kids to activities. I love to play games, read books, and have fun! At this time I am not available for school pick-ups. I am very flexible on nights and weekends. I work at a school Monday-Thursday from 730am-430pm. Feel free to reach out about last-minute needs!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Shay H.

4/15/2018

Laurelai watched my LO for 4 hours and it was such a wonderful experience. She was on time, easy to work with, has great communication skills and my little one loved her. As a first time mom and a newbie to nyc, I was hesitant about leaving my daughter but needed a little me time. I’m so sad Lorelei is back in school and has limited availability. I would hire her again in a heart beat. And plan on it during the weekends!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Visual Impairment
    • Sign Language

Education

Speech Pathology

Graduated Saint Ambrose University 2015

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Sign Language
    • Spanish

Share Laurelai's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now