JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 48
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10032

Meet Marcia

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi There, Hi There.... I am a vibrant, fun-loving, adventurous and highly intelligent woman who loves the feeling of "presence" that being with children affords. I have a very keen interest in the arts, dance and played lots of sport when I was a child myself. I am an above-average cook and thoroughly enjoy swimming, ice skating and the outdoors. I'm an extremely organised person by nature. Some of my other interests include reading, travelling, visiting museums & parks and theatre, especially musicals! I have just completed my Bachelor's degree (major: Africana Studies) at Vassar college as a returning, non-traditional, international student. During the years that I worked as a babysitter and nanny, I spent lots and lots of time with children of various ages in many different capacities... in their homes/ parks/ etc, in classrooms (during college), in a day care centre and with my (seemingly millions!) of nieces Read more and nephews. I was also on the books of the Babysitter's Guild many years ago, both in NYC & Honolulu. This meant that I worked "on call" quite a lot and encountered children from many different backgrounds, ages, countries, etc. I love babysitting because of the break it allows one from "adulting" (even if briefly!) and because it gives one a great excuse to read which is definitely one of my passions. Being able to play and return to the child within me, is such a privilege. And I genuinely enjoy engaging with their developmental/ learning process. I respect children and engage with them as intelligent, sensitive beings, while encouraging self-discipline and oodles of love and affection. I am very physical with them. :-) Although I do have infant experience, most of my babysitting has been with toddlers and school-aged children. Hope to hear from you soon! :-)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Marcia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$35/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Africana Studies

Attended Vassar College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Marcia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now