JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10029

Meet Shannon

  • Comfortable with pets

From a very early age I have enjoyed working with children. As the eldest of five, I was often called upon to help with managing needs in the home with my mother. Throughout college I worked as a nanny for two families, the first with three boys between the ages of five and ten, the second with one two year-old boy. After graduating with a bachelors degree in piano performance, I pursued a career as a professional musician and piano teacher while working on the side as a tutor and nanny to two families. The first family had two boys, ages five and eight, the second had girls ages seven and nine, as well as a five year-old boy. In 2015 I spent six weeks in Italy, working as a piano teacher and English-speaking companion for an Italian family with three boys, aged eight, ten and twelve. As a professional Read more musician, I have also worked extensively with children. I currently teach at the NYC children’s chorus preparatory division, managing classes wih students aged three to six. I also work as a private piano and voice teacher with children between the ages of four and eighteen. I enjoy children immensely and find it very easy to relate to them. I am hoping to find a part-time summer situation during the months of June, July, and August. References available upon request.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Shannon doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

MM Classical Organ Performance

Currently attending Manhattan School of Music

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Shannon's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now