JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10032

Meet James

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets

I just moved to New York with my girlfriend and we’re both enrolled at graduate programs at Columbia University. I’ve spent the last four years in West Africa serving with the US Peace Corps and working as a freelance journalist. Living with my host family was one of the highlights of my service. I became very close with my eight Senegalese siblings, from the twins who were born when I arrived to the eldest who is 14. I always carried a small plastic dinosaur (Franky) as an ice breaker, and to this day traveling as a journalist kids in rural villages ask “honto Franky woni?” - “where is Franky?” Children really enriched my life in Senegal, and I miss that aspect of day to day life there. Beyond my experiences in Senegal I spent a summer nannying a 6 year old boy in Portland, OR (2009) and also babysat other Read more kids in the evenings. More recently in the last several years I’ve become very close and looked after my girlfriend’s nephew who is 4 years old. I take him on walks, do puzzles, read books - and yes, he too loves Franky. What I enjoy most about being around kids is their inherent curiosity about the world around them, their unfiltered observations, and how they live life in the present.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

James doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$80/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

History

Graduated Denison University 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share James's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now