JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 24
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10011

Meet Nikhita

  • Speaks Arabic and English
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi, My name is Nikhita Mendis and I double majored in International Relations and Middle East Studies at Brown University and graduated magna cum laude, with honors, and a 3.9 GPA. I'm currently doing my masters in social anthropology as a Gates Cambridge Scholar at Cambridge University and plan to pursue my PhD in history/anthropology. Working with children at Zaatari Village (the children's section of Zaatari camp) in Jordan, creating afternoon lesson plans and conducting lessons for primary school kids in Providence, tutoring the children of migrant workers and refugees in Lebanon (where I conduct ethnographic research), I've been surrounded by children throughout my work experiences. I am down to earth yet energetic and have been known to create a both fun and educational atmosphere for the families I work with. I have also babysat for families during my summer and winter college holidays. I am proficient in both Arabic Read more and English and have tutored high school students learning Arabic through Brown. I am dedicated, flexible, and attentive to the needs of the families and kids I work with. Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Nikhita doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

International Relations

Graduated Brown University 2017

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Arabic

Share Nikhita's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now