JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 22
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10036

Meet Maija

  • Comfortable with pets

Hello My name is Maija, I go to school at San Jose State University. I am in my last year of college graduating in fall of 2018. I am majoring in philosophy to go in to a masters in speech pathology. I am looking for a full time job during the weekdays because I am taking school Online. I love kids and I am a very creative and outgoing individual who also cares for a child's safety and happiness. I have 5 year experience working with children at the Wiley speech therapy center summer camp and theater summer camp. I am volunteering with a nonprofit called reading partners working with kindergartner one on one who are behind in their reading skills. I have baby sat my nieces and nephews and have a huge passion for kids because they are so bright and smart and I learn so much from them Read more while they learn from me as well. Children deserve a care giver that is their when they need them to help them and comfort themas well as play with them, but also have fun. I have mainly did nannying through while I was in San Jose 2 boys who were 2 and 3 and if references are needed please let me know!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification


  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and late nights
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Maija doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Applied Behavior Analysis


Philosophy, theater

Graduated San Jose State University 2018


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Maija's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now