Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in New York, NY 10024
  • 4 miles, will travel 4 mi

Meet Leslie

  • Comfortable with pets

I have been caring for children ages newborn to 13 years old for the last 20+ years. I am a classically trained opera singer, but have been caring for children as a profession for the last 10 years. I have found that my training as a musician has been incredibly helpful when caring for children on a variety of levels. Many children enjoy playing music and I try to engage them musically when appropriate or relevant with my guitar. But I also have found that, as in music, approach and timing are critical. I pride myself on being emotionally attuned to the spoken and unspoken needs of children. Some kids like to do art and be active on the playground; some kids like quiet time and reading. I work with every family and child to assess their specific needs and match our activities to the personality of the child. I Read more take great pride in watching them grow, develop, and gain independence. I especially love art. Recently, I have made puppets, necklaces and books with the kids I sit for. Whatever project we do, I try to bring a creative imagination and curious mind.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 05/10/2020

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 07/16/2018

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Leslie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$16-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Music - Opera/Voice

Attended SUNY College at Purchase

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Leslie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now