JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 58
  • Babysitter in Poughkeepsie, NY 12601

Meet Margie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

*I reside in Hyde Park on the Pleasant Valley, Town of Poughkeepsie border line. I have a boy and girl - who are grown up and now have their own homes. * In addition to one on one child care I have worked in nursery schools/camps and in the past have been in charge of many children. *During the 2013-14 school year I completed a short-term program commitment as a supervisor for 10 special-ed students ranging from 3rd - 5th grade in a Hyde Park after school literacy/activity program. We worked on literacy, homework and did special and varied indoor and outdoor activities and projects. *In the past, I have instructed gym and swim classes for children under 5 years and a water babies course (6-months-old to 1-year-old swimming classes) for the YMCA. I am educated in human and positive youth development and youth leadership by Cornell Cooperative Extension DC Read more and the Y - both were for jobs I held with the them. *In the past I have provided periodic respite care in Clinton Corners for a family with an eleven year old girl who had two 9 year old twin brothers, approximately twice monthly for three years through a non-profit in that hires direct care workers for those with autism or special needs. *For the past 4 years I have had the pleasure of caring for a twin girls, now 7 years old at their summer home in Millbrook a few days a week - picking them up and driving them home from summer camps and tending to them through bedtime, I also care for them on date nights throughout the year in Millbrook and at their Manhattan residence over night when parents vacation. *For the past 4 years I have cared for a girl and boy, 9 and 11 respectively, after school in Hyde Park when their parents work late. I also drive them to and from activities. Glowing references available. *I am mature and sensible and capable of making decisions. *I drive and always have new and dependable transportation. *I prepare light meals and do light chores. *When caring for children I try to work with them on an educational level, without their being aware of it so everything is a fun learning opportunity. *I love pets, reading and playing games, indoor and out. I do not smoke or have any bad habits whatsoever -- except for chocolate. As stated, I can provide references. *Due to privacy issues I will provide my specific information and that of my employers when I am sure of the employment offer. *Should you have any questions please feel free to ask.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/23/14

Ratings & reviews

Margie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$13-$15/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Bed Baths
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Human Development

Currently attending SUNY - Educational Opportunity Center

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Margie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now