JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 2 years paid experience
  • Age 35
  • Babysitter in Rome, NY 13440

Meet Sara

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am 35 years old and I used to babysit as a teenager. In the last 10 years I have cared for elderly and young adults with special needs. I have a 6 year old daughter and a six-month-old son. Last year I worked for a care manager for upstate cerebral palsy serving adults with chronic health conditions are mental illnesses. I am currently a grad student at University at Albany for social work. I have extensive knowledge in the field of psychology and community health including childhood development, adverse childhood experiences, family violence, and numerous therapies that focus on the person and their strengths. I am interested in providing services to families and their children in my community because I have discovered the need for quality daycare. After spending half the summer with my daughter last year and having to debate now whether I want to send my children Read more to daycare or not, I have decided to take the time and see if having daycare services would be a realistic endeavor for me. I would love to watch your school aged child during the summer (I am seeking to fill two or three "slots"). I am caring and compassionate, crafty, I am health conscious, I have many years of experience in playing music (have some instruments) and dancing, love "science" projects, reading and teaching, I am a gardener, we have a big yard, and I am very active. I live just north of Rome, NY, have a minivan, so field trips are a possibility (I always purchase a Utica Zoo card, Lee Town Park, Jervis Library). I am not first aid/CPR certified, but have been and willing to get certified again. I am not registered with NYS, but have intentions of doing so and have communicated this with the New York State Office of Children and Family Services if there are perspective families who want my services; the process should be completed by June. I am willing to work with DSS and use the states recommended rates. I can provide my resume and references upon request. Pass background tests, etc.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Sara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$5-$11/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Rett Syndrome
    • Seizures
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Social Work, Psychology

Currently attending SUNY at Albany

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now