JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 34 years paid experience
  • Age 73
  • Babysitter in Columbus, OH 43235

Meet Dee

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a retired professor, who also worked part-time in child care and as a professional clown. I love children, seniors, and animals. I babysat a lot during college. When I graduated, I never really gave it up because of the fun of interacting with children and helping them grow and learn. I developed so many skills to entertain children that I became a professional clown on the side. I am looking for a care-giving job, where I can enjoy spending time with children or an invalid. I have over 30 years experience as a part-time sitter. When caring for children, safety always comes first, then home-work, but I specialize in making the child or senior happy. I have hundreds of craft projects that I bring with me. I offer balloon sculptures and or face painting (with the parents permission), often as a bribe for doing a good job on Read more homework. I have a master's degree, including many psychology courses. I've been very successful with children with psychological problems because I tried to understand the children, become involved in their interests, and become a friend, rather than a supervisor. I charge $10/hour, plus a travel fee, if the home is at a distance. The website would not accept zero as the charge for extra children. However, I do not charge more for several children in the same family. (There are just more children to enjoy.) However, when children are not in their own homes, it becomes more difficult to make them comfortable. So, there I charge $12 an hour for multiple families. My schedule is very flexible, and I can accommodate last-minute requests. Of course, I have references, but I do not want to put their information on the public Internet.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Dee doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Cancer
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Consumer Behavior

Graduated Pennsylvania State University - Penn State Main Campus 1974

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Dee's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now