JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 66
  • Babysitter in Portland, OR 97216

Meet Melodie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Greetings, I grew up with a mother (4 kids in my family) who was the neighborhood sitter and when I was 11, I started sitting also. I sat for many families while in JH & HS. After high school, while I attended Hotel-Restaurant Management School in Seattle, I worked as a live-in nanny for a prominent Seattle family with 4 children. (the eldest is now the CEO of the family company) I worked for over 5 years for a family in Redwood City, for date nights and 3-5 days overnight business trips. I have two children of my own. I have worked through SitteCity for over 5 years. One of the jobs was for a prominent Silicon Valley family with a 3.5 month old baby, for 72 hours straight when the family was between nannies. I am reliable and trustworthy, a good cook and I am happy to do light Read more housework, laundry and errands. Active and fit, and yes 64 years old. (I can hardly believe it myself. Having kids at 41 and 44 helps keep you young. (My daughter just turned 20, oh my) I moved back to PDX from SF Bay area about 2 years. I lived in PDX for 12 years, 30 years ago. Looking forward to hearing from you about your occasional sitting needs. Sincerely, Melodie Rose

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

Melodie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

2 post secondary schooling. Hotel-Restaurant Management certificate, Pharmacy Technician certificate

Graduated

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Earth science
    • Social studies

Share Melodie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now