JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 2 years paid experience
  • Age 19
  • Babysitter in Portland, OR 97202

Meet Carmen

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! I'm Carmen, a rising junior Anthropology major at Reed College. I come from a big family with lots of young children, so I grew up learning how to help out with childcare. I have both personal and professional experience with children. I have several years of experience in a range of age groups, from young infants to older elementary schoolers. In High school, I spent my summers volunteering at an orchestra summer program. I worked with musicians ages 10 to 15 on mastering repertoire, developing technique and musicality, and learning how to have fun with music together. Last summer, I worked at UC Berkeley's summer science education program. I taught week-long courses for 5-8 year olds, leading classrooms of around 20 children to explore their curiosities about the world through the lense of science. I also had the opportunity to collaborate on early childhood science curriculum based on a Read more combination of hands-on, project-based, and experiment-driven teaching. I also have experience with young infants. I nannied for a mother with an infant from 2 months to 6 months during the work week. I also spent time volunteering at a post-natal yoga class helping mothers out with their 1-3 month olds so they could focus on the class. Additionally, I have experience with toddlers and older elementary schoolers from more on-call/date night babysitting gigs. I am available from May 29th to August 25th

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Carmen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$12-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Anthropology

Currently attending Reed College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Carmen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now