JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 54
  • Babysitter in Philadelphia, PA 19107

Meet Kara

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! I am an empty-nester parent with two daughters in college. By trade I am a jewelry designer and spend much of my time in the studio. I am looking to supplement my sales income with some part time work. I was a full time parent and have basically seen it all! I raised my children from day 1 until they left for college so I am familiar with every age level. I have also done some teaching for school-age kids in metalsmithing and the arts. I am looking forward to grandparenting one day but am not ready yet! (And neither are my kids!) I would love to spend time around young people again as I miss my own, and often miss their young selves as they are grown up young women now. I prefer to work weekdays but may be able to do an occasional evening or weekend date. Read more I do have some pet allergies but have a cat and take an allergy medication, so it would depend on the particular pet regarding my tolerance. I am willing to give anything a try. I am happy to supply additional references upon request.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Kara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Studio Arts

Graduated University of Illinois at Chicago 1990

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now