Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 32 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Philadelphia, PA 19151

Meet Alva

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Experienced Doula
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I recently took and early retirement from teaching, as my last child, who is sixteen is entering college. I have experience teaching pre-school, elementary, middle school and high school. I have worked in the field of education/child care as a teacher, consultant, specialist, child care center owner/director, and birth coach for my family. Currently, I am PhD candidate majoring in Public Health. My area of concentration is Epidemiology. I look forward continuing to work with children on a part-time basis while pursing my degree. This summer I have re-newed my child abuse clearance, FBI clearance, and criminal history background clearance. In addition, I have recently taken the following workshops: Act 168 (Commonwealth of PA Sexual Misconduct Disclosure Release, Act 126 (Child Mandated Reporter Training), Cultural Competence and Racial Bias Training, Keeping Children Safe, Act 71 (Youth Sucide- Awareness, Prevention, and Postvention), and Coronavirus Awareness, and CPR Certification (8/7). All certificates Read more are available to view upon request. Be Well, Alva Daniels, M.Ed.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Family Concierge T.

12/2/2021

Britt L.

10/5/2021

Alva is great, patient, kind and caring. My 1 year old is a pandemic baby and very attached to me. Alva came in and introduced her to arts and crafts and remained patient with her evening when she was crying the whole time! I would definitely recommend Alva to any family looking for a nanny.

Beza W.

8/2/2021

Alva has so much experience. She is timely and knows what she is doing. What makes her stand out is that she clearly has such a love for all children, and I knew my little boy was safe and happy in her hands!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Public Health / Concentration- Epidemiology

References

Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Alva's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now