Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in Charleston, SC 29407

Meet Sonya

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, my name is Sonya. I am a 2nd grade teacher in Dorchester 2 School District. I have taught 2nd grade for five years and 1st grade for one year. My teaching career started in Illinois and continued in South Carolina after moving here. I am available during nights and weekends all year long., however during summer my availability is more open. I have over 10 years of experience with all ages of children. I have been a nanny for three different families and have babysat for many different families. I have experience from newborns to teenagers. I was a Lifeguard back at home so I have CPR, Life guarding, and First Aid experience. Gymnastics is also a passion of mine. I am a very reliable, organized, and responsible person. I am always on time so you can count on me. I have my own car for transportation to get Read more to places. I am a very active person and have been a gymnast my whole life. I love the outdoors and doing activities with children.I love children and that is a big reason why I am an Elementary School Teacher. I want to make a difference in children's lives and help them get the knowledge and education they need to succeed.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Available to start on 6/9/2016
  • My availability is valid through 8/7/16

Ratings & reviews

Sonya doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Elementary Education

Graduated Illinois State University 2013


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English

Share Sonya's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now