Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Austin, TX 78741

Meet Ornella

  • Speaks Italian
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, my name is Ornella and I would love to be your babysitter! I've lived in Austin for about 4 years but I'm originally from New York. I am a graduate of Oberlin College. For the past year and a half I've worked as a behavior specialist at Helping Hand Home, a residential treatment center for foster kids, aged 6 to 14, who have suffered severe abuse and have developed difficult-to-manage behaviors as a result. Aside from this position, I have been working with children in various capacities for over eight years. In New York I tutored children at a community center and I also student taught in 2nd and 5th grade classrooms. In addition, I worked full time as a baseball coach for children aged 7 to 10 for two summers. I also worked at Communities in Schools, where I mentored a caseload of 20 3rd through 5th grade Read more students who were struggling academically and socially. I also have experience with younger children. During college I worked for two years at the Oberlin Early Childhood Center with babies as young as six month and children as old as five. During my second year there I also served as a site leader for the center, mentoring and overseeing seven other college students. I have extensive babysitting experience as well. I have babysat for children as young as 4 months and as old as 11. I have a real passion for working with children because I see it as truly rewarding. I believe in the importance of teaching children compassion through the way we treat them. I believe one of my greatest strengths is my patience. I enjoy being able to see children grow and progress through our time together. Since I have worked in such a diverse array of environments with children, I understand that different families have different philosophies about how to best nurture and support their children. I am happy to learn about your own personal ideas so that your children can feel comfortable with me. Please contact me if you are interested in having me babysit for you. I can provide several references as well as a more detailed resume upon request. Thank you for your time and consideration and good luck with your search!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Emily D.

9/10/2017

I interviewed Ornella by phone and in person. She is professional, responsive, punctual, and knowledgeable. I liked that she had a very warm and calm demeanor. I would trust Ornella with my children and hope that she will be babysitting for us some time in the future!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)
    • Wilbarger Brushing Protocol

Education

Politics & Sociology

Graduated Oberlin College 2013

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Italian

Share Ornella's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now