Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 72
  • Babysitter in Alexandria, VA 22312

Meet Josephine

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a 71 year old retired mother and grandmother.  I provided full time care for my grand daughter for the first year of her life when my daughter went back to work.  Sadly my daughter and her family moved out of state. I cared for one baby aged 3 months to a year (full time) and then that family moved. Then I cared for 2 babies (part time) for 5 years. When my "babies" went to kindergarten, I baby sat the little sister of one of them until that family moved. Then I baby sat a 3 month old baby 2 or 3 days a week until she turned one. When her mom went back to work full time, they found alternate care. I am now looking for another baby to care for.   I am a retired medical technologist. I have a degree in biology and chemistry. I Read more worked in the blood bank of a local hospital until I retired and taught at the community college. I also love music and play the violin with several musical ensembles. I took CPR and a Red Cross first aid course. I will gladly provide references from the families I worked for. I really enjoy taking care of babies. I will share my love of music, baby sign language, dramatic play and positivity with your child (or children), and care for him, her or them  just as I would my own grandchild (or grandchildren).

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and late nights
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/24/17

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Jennifer L.


I can't say enough wonderful things about Jody! She watched my baby for 8 months starting when she was 5 months old until she turned one year. Sadly, we had to move away and weren't able to take her with us. Jody is extremely trustworthy, loving, and dependable to say the very least. She went above and beyond for our daughter and treated her like her own grandaughter. She read and taught her sign language everyday. My daugher loved her so much and our family misses her! I'd be happy to provide additional information if requested. Please feel free to email me at

Cheron G.


Jody is a very nice lady, and we look forward to working with her again and again.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)


Biology/ Chemistry

Graduated Stetson University 1970


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English

Share Josephine's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now