Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 34
  • Babysitter in Newport News, VA 23606

Meet Megan

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been babysitting infants to middle school age children for approximately 18 years. I started baby-sitting at the age of 13. My experience includes: babysitting for a family of four boys from infant to 15 years of age for 3 summers in college. My third summer I watched a 6-month-old and 5-year-old along with their two older brothers three to four days a week. I ended my nanny job with this family due to graduating college and getting a job at Lutheran Family Services of Virginia. I love kids and love baby-sitting! I grew up baby-sitting my small cousins and spent a month in Atlanta with my Aunt and her four kids as a live in nanny during a summer college break. I am very passionate about kids, and know they need special care and attention!   In 2014 I completed Graduate school at a College for my Masters Read more in Health Advocacy in New York. Moved back to VA about 2 years ago and work as a oncology Social Worker and take care of my 5 1/2 year old son.   I am currently interested in babysitting for families occasionally on weekends--date nights, etc.  I have my son every other week ( with his dad on the other weeks) so I am available every other weekend.   I love children, very energetic, cheerful, organized, loving, and just plain fun.  If you would like to contact me further please e-mail me on sittercity.com or at megan.fortner@gmail.com. Look forward to hearing from you. Thanks!  I will provide references upon request.                                           

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Danielle Y.

2/16/2011

As a working mom of 3 busy elementary school aged boys I have had a lot of experience with various babysitters over the years. A good babysitter is often hard to find. I was very pleased with Megan's work. She is mature, responsible and reliable. She was always on-time to get the kids and made sure they did their homework. She is very professional and genuinely likes kids. My boys really liked her. She has a positive attitude and was willing to pitch in around the house. She was also very patient in difficult situations when they came up. We had a very good experience with her caring for the boys. We have opted to get a live-in au pair now and that is the only reason why Megan will not continue working with us. Otherwise, I would have hired her permanently.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$13-$15/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Health Advocacy

Currently attending Sarah Lawrence College

Additional services

  • Potty Training
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Megan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now