Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Fairlee, VT 05045

Meet Valerie

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello parents! I am 25 years old. I have been babysitting since I was 11. I started volunteering in my church offering childcare during night school and meetings. I went as far to get certified every few years with the Red Cross in babysitting, First aid, & CPR. From 2016-2019 I worked at MSNV, one of the oldest Montessori schools in northern Virginia. Over my last four years I worked in their extended day program, subbed in preprimary and primary classrooms, aided in a primary classroom, and assisted during lunch and nap. In the last two years I transitioned from MSNVs preschool campus to their elementary campus. I’m currently pursuing a degree in education. I learned through working at MSNV and a sleep away summer camp, elementary aged children is the age I want to study teaching. I enjoy caring for children of all ages. For the last two years Read more I have been lead teaching in a at home Montessori based preschool in a Spanish bilingual classroom. I loved being a preschool teacher but, am ready to put more time into school and continue working with children in a more intimate setting. Caring for 13 children, and having 13 families to form relationships with can feel overwhelming. Starting in the fall I started seasonal work at the Hulbert Outdoor Center in Fairlee, VT. Due to COVID I have been stuck here but, am ready to find work since Hulbert is done for the season. I am MAT trained and have my certifications update to date in infrant/toddler/young child/adult CPR and First aid. I am up to date on all of my vaccinations and TB tests regularly done over he years because I work at a childcare center. I have extensive experience in babysitting. Over the last few years I’ve babysit for over 30 families and among those families have a good amount that I’ve known for 3-6 years. I go out of my way to make fun activities and keep kids entertained. I have worked with a wide range of children from premature babies to preteens. I'm able to prepare meals, clean up around the house, care for pets, do laundry, assist in planning educational activities for children, teach Spanish, and more. I will become available full time in the summer. I am currently looking for live in/live out full time nanny work. I am currently looking for employment in Mass and DC area since I have places to live in both areas.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 08/27/2020

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 09/13/2017

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired on 09/12/2020

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

4.6 4.6 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

8

0

0

0

1

Colleen G.

6/24/2015

Valerie was a wonderful sitter and we will be using her in the future. She was prompt, responsive, and caring. She is very knowledgeable with young children and our daughter was well cared for by her. It is so nice to be able to go out and have peace of mind which is exactly what you will get with Valerie.

April O.

12/17/2014

I highly recommend Valerie. She is very responsive, friendly, and great with kids. Our son loved having her come stay with him and we're looking forward to having her babysit in the future.

Jessica W.

8/13/2014

I communicated with Valerie about providing before school care for my children. She said she was interested and also said she was available for an evening babysitting job I needed filled. She said she would call and never did. I tried to contact her via email and did not hear back. I am glad I did not count on her and was able to find care elsewhere.

Michelle H.

10/14/2013

Our kids really enjoyed having Valerie sit for them. They can't wait for her to come back. She was very responsible, flexible and on time. She made our first sitting experience a breeze.

Krista B.

9/22/2013

Valerie has babysat for my girls twice, and both times was on-time, caring and extremely helpful with homework and bedtime routines. She is smart and kind and my girls absolutely love her!

Lee B.

9/9/2013

Valerie is a great sitter. Always on time and has stayed late twice when our plans have changed. She is great with the kids and they always have a good time. The house is more clean when we return each time.

Alexander L.

8/29/2013

Valerie has watched our kids a couple times now and has been great for last minute planned date nights and situational work issues. She is very friendly, promptly on time and takes to the kids immediately. When the stars align and we have the opportunity for some time out, Valerie is our go to sitter.

Amy J.

5/28/2013

Valerie is one of the best babysitters I've ever had. She has a natural ability with kids. She is energetic and lots of fun. She kept my three kids-- ages 3, 7, and 8-- fully occupied for five hours. They played sports in the backyard, went for bike rides, played games and read many books. My kids adored her! If you're looking for a babysitter who will give you "peace-of-mind", Valerie is it. She comes highly recommended.

Sanjeev S.

4/29/2013

Valerie was a last minute choice since our primary babysitter cancelled on us. She was very friendly and well mannered. Our son really enjoyed having her over. I highly recommend her.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$26/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Homework

Share Valerie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now